One of the Second Life blogs I read occasionally pointed me at something I hadn’t noticed in the golly-whillikers inducing change in the look of Flickr. They’ve gotten rid of Pro accounts, and once the paid subscriptions I have for myself, my church, and my Second Life accounts run out, I’m pretty sure I’m not going to renew all of them. Why should I, with prices like these just to avoid ads? Well, at least I’m grandfathered in as a current Pro member, I can renew for another two years for the current cost of a one year “Ad Free” account.
I guess I’d like to see what a free account with ads looks like – if it’s anything like what it looks like with the redesign (huge pictures, dark background) before you log in, they’re just banner images occasionally in the stream.
What’s the difference between a Free, Ad Free, and Doublr account?
There are three kinds of accounts to choose from at Flickr, and all of them are awesome in their own way.
- 1 Terabyte of photo and video storage
- Upload photos of up to 200MB per photo
- Upload 1080p HD videos of up to 1GB each
- Video playback of up to 3 minutes each
- Upload and download in full original quality
- Unlimited monthly bandwidth
- $49.99 per year
- All the benefits of a free account
- No ads in your browsing experience
- $499.99 per year
- 2 Terabytes of photo and video space
- All the benefits of a free account
(it goes on to say…)
I’ve heard that Flickr Pro is no longer being offered. How does that affect me?
As of May 20, 2013, we are no longer offering Flickr Pro subscriptions to the majority of our members. Some things to be aware of (with more details below):
- Recurring Pro members currently have the ability to continue renewing at the same price.
- Eligible Pro members can get a prorated refund for a limited time.
- Eligible non-recurring Pro members can purchase a recurring Pro subscription.
- The “Gift of Pro” will no longer be available for purchase.
- Pro users will no longer appear with a “Pro” badge beside their name or buddy icon
Your Pro pricing remains the same and your benefits have improved:
- Those who remain Pro will retain all their original benefits.
- The photo and video size limits will be upgraded to those offered with our new free account.
- If you are on a recurring Pro subscription, your payments will remain as is. To see what your current subscription costs, see the previous payment on in your order history.
- Pro members will never be automatically transitioned to an Ad Free or Doublr subscription.
If you’d like to switch to a free account:
- Eligible Pro members who switch to a free account by August 20, 2013 can receive a prorated refund on their purchase and will lose their Pro benefits immediately.
- Pro members who cancel Pro after August 20, 2013 will retain Pro benefits until their subscription expiration date.
If you’d like to keep your Pro membership:
- Anyone who was Pro at 12:00 am (midnight) GMT on May 20, 2013, may be eligible to sign up for recurring Pro in order to extend their Pro membership beyond its expiration date.
- This applies to:
- those whose one-time or gift Pro memberships expired after 12:00 am GMT.
- those who are on a gifted Pro account.
- those who have purchased one-off Pro and are set to expire in the future.
- To keep your Pro status by signing up for a recurring Pro subscription, visit the account order page.
- If you cancel your recurring subscription or opt for the prorated refund, you will no longer have the option to sign up for a recurring subscription.
- If your recurring subscription expires after May 20, 2013, due to a failed payment, please contact the billing team.
How to tell whether you are on a recurring payment plan:
- Visit your account details page and look at “Your Flickr account”.
- You are on a one-off or gift subscription if it says “It expires on [date].”
- You are on a recurring subscription if it says “It will renew on [date].”
- If your account has already expired you will not see a related date.
My own Flickr Pro account expires June 7 2014, so there’s a year to go. But according to the graphic, I get 2 years’ worth of “ad free” for the same cost, so I might renew…maybe. Not sure if I care enough about seeing ads or not, but it might be worth it. When I do upload to Flickr (I kind of miss the fun interactions I had when I was using it more), I upload a metric frackton at a time
My Second Life Pro account expires March 16 2014. Probably won’t renew. I don’t care if I see ads on that account, I don’t use it very often, but it’s handy for stashing photos I’ve shot “inworld.” I could probably get by with free.
The St Nicholas Episcopal church Pro account expires January 12th 2015(and I really have bunch of photos to upload, and need to take more, but we mostly use Facebook). I could probably get by for free here, too. A terabyte is upwards of 500,000 photos according to Flickr’s FAQ page, so no worries there.
Meh, I guess “hate” is too strong a word, but I’m still not used to the changes.